A Little Bit of VT in CT

(Apologies in advance for iPhone pictures – I forgot my camera at home last weekend.)

Last weekend was a good one. It was the kind of weekend that you never want to end. Tommy and I drove down to CT Friday night and Dennis came down from RI Saturday morning, to spend the weekend at my parents’ house together. The occasion – celebrating Little Denny’s 23rd birthday.

Saturday was brisk, sunny and beautiful, the perfect fall day. Antsy to get outside and enjoy the sunshine, we decided to take a family field trip up to the Stamford Museum, a farm in old North Stamford. It’s just a few minutes from my grandparents’ house and as a kid, my dad worked there (my grandfather loves to tell the story of the time he was bitten by a monkey in the line of duty.)

Instead of parking at the museum, we drove to the Arboretum and hiked in via beautifully wooded trails.
IMG_2702
The trees had started to turn and it looked and felt like we were hiking through the woods of Vermont.
IMG_2704      IMG_2708      IMG_2709
We had so much fun chatting and laughing our way through the woods. Tommy and Dennis’ bbf ,Lily, are our adoptive siblings, and the five of us always have the best time together. While the three of us were in college for the past ten years collectively, there weren’t that many times when our whole family was together. Someone was always off at school or unable to join on a trip, so getting to spend time together as a whole family now feels like a huge treat.
IMG_2749
I was talking to a friend lately and she remarked that this (our mid to late twenties) has been her least favorite age so far, and I was so struck by that. For me, my late twenties have been hands down, far and away, my favorite age to date. I was an awkward, insecure teenager and it took me a long time to become comfortable in my own skin. Now that I finally am, I enjoy everything so much more. I know what I like and what I don’t, I’ve established my priorities, and I value my family (a category that has grown to include a few of my best friends) more than ever. And while my family has always enjoyed spending time together, I think spending time together as adults has been the most fun yet.
IMG_2750
But enough about me. Back on the farm, we walked around visiting all the different animals. Including, this unsuspecting donkey who became part of Dennis’ most epic selfie to date.
IMG_2751
We also saw cows, pigs, llamas, goats, bunnies, chickens and a terrifying black swan.
IMG_2716      IMG_2741      IMG_2745
The late afternoon sun washing over the foliage made the whole farm seem golden. It was stunning.
IMG_2743
When we’d finished at the farm we walked back to the cars and headed home to prep dinner and make a giant pitcher of mojitos. My dad and Tommy grilled pizzas and started a fire in the chiminea. We put on some music, sat back and celebrated Dennis’ birthday in front of the fire. In true Conetta form, there were shots of lemoncello and an impromptu wiffle ball game in the yard. We danced and may have even played some dizzy bat…

Leave a Reply

