Pineapple Green Smoothies

Two weeks ago I switched up my breakfast routine. It had been really humid and the thought of making eggs was too hot and sticky. So I went with something cooler, smoothies. I’ve been making them almost every day since.
Green Smoothies 022That gorgeous green comes from the kale, which came from our garden. I’ve had an abundance of kale growing this summer. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so much in my life. It wasn’t always my favorite green but it has really grown on me over the past few months.
Green Smoothies 002
You’ll need:

  • A handful of fresh kale
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 3/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • A splash of orange juice

Disclaimer: when I make smoothies I don’t usually measure anything. I just eyeball as I go and add more of something if I need it. I’ve approximated my measurements here. But feel free to improvise with what you have on hand.

Start by adding the kale and water to the blender. Blend on high until you have a green, frothy liquid. By starting with the kale you avoid getting chunks of greens in your smoothie.
Green Smoothies 006  Green Smoothies 007
Green Smoothies 008        Green Smoothies 009Now add your frozen fruit, yogurt, flax and OJ and blend well.
Green Smoothies 012
The sound of the blender will change once the heavy blending is done. At this point I check to make sure everything’s smooth. Then I blend a for another two minutes or so. I find that giving it an extra minute or two keeps the smoothie from separating later one. The frothier the better!
Green Smoothies 016
Pour into a glass and you’re ready to enjoy. On weekdays, I throw mine into a ball jar and head to work. But on this particular day, a Saturday, I headed outside to enjoy my smoothie on the back deck with a very good friend.
Green Smoothies 019
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

