Yoga on Demand

Let’s talk about yoga. Over the years I’ve gone through phases with yoga. I’ve had months and even whole years when I’ve religiously attended yoga classes  and other times when I’d go months without practicing. Most recently, I haven’t practiced since I hurt my knees. I always found it to be a great compliment to running. It fit in well as a weekly active rest day to stretch out and give my body some love.

Last weekend when Kristen was visiting she told me about a yoga group she leads at her school. She was saying how she does yoga more for the relaxation and mental break than for the exercise. And it made me think about how much I miss yoga. My favorite part was always coming out of the relaxation coma-toast that is Savasana. Few other times in my life have I been able to really let my mind rest the way it does during the last few minutes of a yoga practice.

So when Kristen suggested doing yoga last Saturday I was happy to join her. My knees were feeling good and I knew that I could sit out any poses that didn’t work for me. In the past, I’ve done yoga mostly at a gym and at yoga studios, but occasionally when I wanted to get in a quick workout at home, I’ve done the videos they have in the On Demand section of my tv. Kristen likes the ones offered by Amazon Prime as well. So we searched the free fitness videos available On Demand (I have Comcast) and found one called Back Care Yoga for Beginners with Rodney Yee.
yoga on demand 2.21.15 040It was quick (less than 30 minutes) and gentle enough that I only had to sit out two or three of the movements. Most of the moves were done using a chair for stabilization which took the pressure off your back and knees. It felt so good to stretch and breathe and let myself relax. I liked it so much that I did it again by myself the next day. Then once last week and again this morning. It takes less than a minute to unroll my mat and set up a chair so I can get it done in half an hour.
yoga on demand 2.21.15 037I plan on getting back into yoga as I start moving more. There’s a studio in the building where I work that I plan on joining when I can comfortably kneel and fully bend my knees again. I spoke with one of the teachers there and she suggested waiting a few more weeks so that I can fully participate. Until then, I’m happy to spend 3o minutes a few times a week with Rodney. Stretching, breathing and wishing I was in whatever tropical location it is, that he’s teaching from.

Have you ever done yoga “On Demand”? Or do you have a favorite yoga video? 

Leave a Reply

