Snow Day Lunch

While most of the northeast is hunkered down for the big blizzard of 2015, up here in Burlington it’s a pretty normal day. It didn’t start snowing until lunchtime, so instead of staying in I decided to go out.
New Moon 027
I met Tommy and Korinne for lunch downtown. They work just off of Church Street and it’s a quick walk to all the restaurants. We met at New Moon.
New Moon 024
I love New Moon because it’s cozy, there’s a ton of seating and they are home to my favorite salad bar in Burlington. They also have sandwiches, cupcakes and smoothies. The decor is funky and eclectic. How awesome is that chandelier??
New Moon 003
There’s two lines – one for the sandwich bar and one for salads. Korinne and I ordered the chicken and rice soup and Tommy got the Nantucket chicken salad sandwich. I usually get a salad and a smoothie but it’s freezing and snowy and a warm bowl of soup sounded much better.
New Moon 009
We grabbed a table in the back where there’s always plenty of seating.
New Moon 013
The soup was delicious. I loved the chunky vegetables and wild rice. I usually think of chicken and rice soup as being broth based, but I really enjoyed the creaminess of this one. And the baguette was perfect for dipping.
New Moon 017
For dessert we shared a chocolate chip cookie. Here’s Tommy’s cookie smile.
New Moon 019
We cleaned up our dishes and headed back out into the snow.
New Moon 026
I ran a few errands before heading home. Now I’m holed up watching the snow out the window. We’re only supposed to get a few inches, but I’m enjoying the snow day nonetheless. Stay warm, everyone.

Leave a Reply

