Recovery Mode

Fitness is an important part of my life. I have always described myself as active, especially since moving to Vermont. I embraced the culture of getting outside and getting active wholeheartedly. One of my greatest challenges over the past year has been adjusting to the amount of rest that my knees needed. Having to put exercise on the back burner was frustrating and took me a long time to accept.
12.13.14 005Now that I’m almost a month post surgery, I’m gaining both strength and flexibility. My knees get very tired but I’m able to stand, walk and do stairs throughout the day. I’m cleared to do some walking but I’m not yet back to regular exercise. It’s hard to get into a routine because I never know exactly how I’m going to feel, and it’s important that I not push past any kind of pain or discomfort.
12.13.14 002
With that said, I’m ready to ease back into some kind of fitness routine. I’ve been thinking a lot about what kind of a gym/program I’m going to join. I had been doing Crossfit but I’ve lost a lot of strength over the last year and need to build back some basics before I think about starting again. I’ll need to start by increasing cardio and doing basic strength training.
12.13.14 003
Over the next few weeks my goal is to do an at home arm and ab workout every other day. Additionally, I’ll work on increasing the amount I can walk. Even though I’ll have to start small, the act of lacing up my shoes, rolling out my mat and picking up some weights will make me feel like myself again.

Leave a Reply

