My New Favorite Vegetable Soup

In the winter I always want warm lunches. I know that salads are the best way to get my fill of veggies, but I just don’t crave them this time of year. Instead, I lean towards soups to get my vegetables and warm my insides. Currently, my favorite soup is Dorie Greenspan’s Provencal Vegetable Soup.
DG soup 12.7.14 001
It can be found in her book, Around my French Table. If you’re in the market for a cookbook, I’d highly recommend it. A few years ago, my foodie friend, G, texted me to say that two of Dorie Greenspan’s books were on sale on Amazon for $7 (insanity!!). I immediately purchased them and it was hands down the best $7 I’ve ever spent. Normally they retail for $40 each, and truthfully, I’d pay full price for both. Most of my cookbooks sit around collecting dust but I use AMFT and Baking constantly. They house some of my all time favorite recipes and I enjoy Dorie’s voice – she has great tips and anecdotes. Everything I’ve made of hers (and that’s a lot) has come out well.
DG soup 12.7.14 004I love this soup because it’s extra hearty, thanks to the addition of pasta and potatoes. We make it without the recommended chickpeas, but that’s just personal preference.
DG soup 12.7.14 020
Now, if I’m being really honest, I’ve never actually made this soup alone. I flagged it to make right before my first knee surgery in October but never got around to it. Tommy found my note to self on the counter and made it for me the day after my surgery. He made the mistake of doing such a good job that I’ve begged him to make it almost weekly since then. This morning when I woke up feeling under the weather, I put in yet another request. He graciously cooked while I hovered around taking photos.
DG soup 12.7.14 002
I had a big bowl for lunch and plan to have another for dinner. It’s that good!
DG soup 12.7.14 034
The original recipe can be found on page 83 of Around my French Table. Below is our own version that we’ve adapted over the past few months.

Vegetable Soup (adapted from Dorie Greenspan’s Provencal Vegetable Soup)
2 tablespoons Olive Oil
1/2 large onion finely chopped
4 cups low sodium chicken broth
2 cups water
2 large carrots, peeled and chopped into bite size pieces
1 small potato, peeled and cut into cubes
1/2 cup small pasta (today we used gnocchetti)
1 medium zucchini cut into small half moons
1 large tomato, diced
1/3 cup frozen corn
pinches of garlic powder, salt, pepper, rosemary and time for seasoning
Parmesan cheese

Heat olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Stir in onions and cook until soft, about 10 minutes. Season with salt, pepper and garlic powder. Add broth, water and herbs and bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 5 minutes.

Stir in carrots and potato and cook for 10 minutes. Add pasta and cook another 10 minutes. Add zucchini and cook for 10 minutes more. Finally, add the diced tomato and frozen corn and cook until corn is soft.

Sprinkle each bowl with Parmesan cheese before serving. I recommend pairing it with a nice piece of baguette for dipping.

Leave a Reply

