National Cookie Day

Did you know that today is National Cookie Day? I didn’t. I got a text right before I left the office from a friend letting me know. Being the cookie enthusiast that I am, I felt like I should celebrate. Nat'l Cookie Day 12.4.14 043
I decided to make my mom’s butterballs. They’re quick, delicious, and always remind me of the holidays. Every Christmas growing up my mom and brother were in charge of the gingerbread cookies, my sister would make chocolate chip cookies, and I made these. I haven’t made them in years and forgot how easy they are to make.
Nat'l Cookie Day 12.4.14 014
All you have to do is mix together:
2 cups of flour
1 cup of butter
1/4 cup of sugar
1 tsp vanilla
Keep mixing until you can roll the dough into a ball. I used my stand mixer to get it started. When the dough started to come together I removed the bowl from its stand and used my hands to form small, cookie sized balls.
Nat'l Cookie Day 12.4.14 023
Place your butter balls on a cookie sheet that’s been lined with parchment paper or a silpat mat. They should be about the size of a tablespoon each.
Nat'l Cookie Day 12.4.14 031
Pop them into the oven at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes and let them bake until they’re slightly golden around the edges.
Nat'l Cookie Day 12.4.14 041
Let them cool for a few minutes until they start to become firm but are still warm. Then roll them in powdered sugar. I mixed red and green sanding sprinkles into the bowl of powdered sugar to make them extra festive.
Nat'l Cookie Day 12.4.14 046
I love the way they came out! I can’t believe I never thought to add sprinkles before today. They’d be a fun addition to any holiday party.

Korinne was over while I was baking and graciously took all of the pictures above. She and Tommy also served as my taste testers.

Leave a Reply

