Windy City Weekend Part IV: Goose Island Brewery

On Sunday we woke up hungry for breakfast. Luckily we didn’t have to look far. At the end of Julie and Dmitriy’s street is a great diner called Melrose Restaurant. It’s opened 24 hours a day and 365 days a year.
DSC_0331
We filled up on the classics: omelettes, french toast, ham, eggs, and waffles.
DSC_0336
With full bellies we headed out to check another item off of Tommy’s Chicago to do list – Goose Island Brewery.
DSC_0342
As Vermont residents, we visit quite a few breweries. In fact, we live within walking distance of two: Switchback and Queen City. Most of the breweries we’ve seen have been within state lines, so it was exciting to see one away from home.
DSC_0386
I’ve enjoyed Goose Island on tap in a few places before but this was the first time I’d seen the full menu. I was surprised at its length. There were more than a dozen beers on offer.
DSC_0360
Goose Island had a large space that housed the brewery, a taproom, and a restaurant. We decided to grab a table in the restaurant and have some appetizers while we waited. We ordered fries and a hummus plate.DSC_0378
I
 was really dehydrated and decided to taste Tommy’s beers instead of ordering my own. My favorite was the Green Line. It was on the lighter side and had a great hint of citrus. It became my go-to drink order for the rest of my week in Chicago.
DSC_0370
I had so much fun getting to see more of Chicago and spending time with Julie and Dmitriy last weekend. During the rest of the week I attended a conference and did alumni visits for work. I flew back to Burlington last night, and after a busy week away it feels really good to be home.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

